homemade yogurt without buying any new gadgets

Hmmm,

I think I may have loved really high quality yogurt forever ( I may be making that up). In the early 80′s I purchased one of those fancy incubators with the little separate cups. I tried to recreate a delicious memory of eating full fat yogurt with natural fruit in the basement of Eaton’s in Vancouver.  I recall making it a few times, but I must have been bored and disappointed and found the contraption a nuisance in my cupboard. I reverted back to my more urgent practical pursuit of  creating an infinite number of variations around hamburger/ cream soup into every meal….but that’s another story.

On the yogurt trail,  I descended into a terrible detour into grocery store non fat, fake  concoctions that were as tasteless as some of the fashions and hairstyles I sported during that period.

In the mid 90′s, I finally fulfilled my dream of setting foot on  European soil and discovered REAL YOGURT!  It was of course impossible to find in grocery stores at home. A few years later I discovered you could pick up GREEK Yogurt at the deli’s in my neighborhood. It was pricey though and I didn’t treat myself or my family often.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, happily it’s a new era. Greek Yogurt or just good natural unprocessed yogurt is all the rage now.

That brings me to my current experiment.

I found 2 great tutorials online and have merged the 2 together.

http://thestonesoup.com/blog/2012/03/yoghurt/

http://www.makeyourownyogurt.com/

I decided to try my old yard sale crock pot ( the kitchen appliance that holds many unfulfilled dreams in my house) . I heated up some milk , measured the temp with my meat thermometer and I am heading off for the day.  Oh yes, I also threw a couple of T of Balkan yogurt and powdered milk into the batch .

We shall see tomorrow if I end up poisoning anyone or actually create something edible.

9 thoughts on “homemade yogurt without buying any new gadgets

  1. I started making yogurt about a year ago! I don’t make it all the time but have done it on a somewhat regular basis. I was shocked that all you needed was to boil milk, stir in a tablespoon of plain yogurt and leave it overnight in a warm place and the next morning you have yogurt! Here is the recipe I use on my pinterest board. :)

    Oh and also a potato recipe that I tried this weekend that is SO good I have to share. :)

  2. I have tried all kinds of yogurt starters available on the market in my 20 years of yogurt-making experience. What I’ve found to work best is a Bulgarian yogurt starter culture that I buy from http://www.BacillusBulgaricus.com. They describe theirs as a no-fuss yogurt starter which is easy to use and makes thick, creamy and delicious yogurt and I must agree that the guys are right on spot with the description. It produces yogurt of exceptional quality with smell and taste like nothing you can find in the store or make with any other yogurt starter. I also reuse the yogurt I make so the 4 gallon pack that I buy from them lasts me months (the pack is just a few grams in weight). Highly recommend! Megan, perhapse you can ask them for a sample and give it a go?

Leave a Reply

