the holy grail of butter cream frosting

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am on a quest for the best vanilla cupcake paired with the holy grail of BUTTERCREAM. With the plethora of cupcake shops out there this should be an easy task –but not so. Many bake shops excel at particular flavours but I have only found a couple of shops that has really delivered on the vanilla butter-cream. Too many frostings are overly sweet , cloying and sickly tasting to me.  There was a time when I was anxious to be seduced by a cupcakes beauty only to be bitterly disappointed. Sadly now, I am weary and jaded!

Finding the perfect recipe is equally difficult….but I have done it!!!

First off I was sucked in by the heading of BEST GOLDEN CAKE RECIPE by a famous baking blog. Against better judgement I ignored my own instincts to forego the mixer when incorporating the dry and wet ingredients together and used the mixer instead. Predictably the cakes were tough, and riddled with tunnels. Like a long-lost friend, I sought out my OLD SCHOOL BETTY CROCKER recipe for DINETTE cake and followed the method my mother had taught me years ago. I have used this recipe on many occasions over the years as it is a perfect easy to pull together basic butter /golden cake. You can see by the picture how well used this cook book is. Publicly I espoused my love of JOY OF COOKING, when I was harbouring my dirty little secret of BETTY CROCKER hidden away at arm’s reach. It kills me to look back at some of the “old timey recipes” I saved in the binder.

Here is the recipe for DINETTE CAKE- according to Terri and then the best  BUTTER CREAM that I searched out on All Recipes.com. (The user comments were very helpful in order to decipher the best method to use, since you will see the original instructions are kind of vague.)  My sister Lori had shared a custard buttercream and I had loved it but lost the recipe.I had tried to recreate it from memory and was not getting the perfect end result I wanted. I have added my own notes (IN RED CAPS) too so you can try it out.

Then tell me if you don’t love it!!

happy eating, terri

DINETTE CAKEadapted from Betty Crocker 

MY VERSION OF DINETTE CAKE:

IN STAND MIXER BEAT:

  • 1/3 c butter
  • 1 c sugar

BEAT TILL SMOOTH and fluffy and add in

  • 1 egg-

CONTINUE TO BEAT UNTIL SOFT then remove bowl from stand mixer

ADD BY HAND —
  •  3/4 c  Milk ( can be sour or buttermilk or whole milk) and vanilla flavouring or paste
THEN FOLD IN
POUR INTO CUPCAKE TINS OR 1 9×9 sq or 1 large round tin.
Bake in preheated oven at 350 degrees F
Set timer according to your pan size–small cupcakes take approx 15 min but check your over to get the right timing
COOL ON RACKS and ice with  butter cream when ready . You can get fancy and add a raspberry of blueberry or whatever you like–but you really can enjoy as is. 

BEST BUTTERCREAM– adapted from the recipe on this link. 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened (UNSALTED IS BEST BUT NOT IMPERATIVE. DO NOT USE MARGARINE)
  • 1 cup white sugar ( TAKE PLAIN WHITE SUGARAND BLEND UNTIL POWDERY IN YOUR BLENDER–OR USE ICING SUGAR. IT IS CHEAPER TO BLEND YOUR OWN THOUGH AND WORKS GREAT)
 Directions
  1. FIRST STEP:  In small saucepan cook flour and milk until it forms a ball, stirring constantly. Cool to room temperature. ( I USE A GLASS BOWL AND HEAT UP IN THE MICROWAVE. IT JUST SEEMS LIKE LESS MESS TO ME AND NO POTENTIAL BURNING)

    see how think it is??? very goopy.
    see how think it is??? very goopy.
  2. SECOND STEP: With an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until fluffy. ( LET THE CUSTARD COOL –) 

    grinding my white sugar into a powdery fine concoction
    grinding my white sugar into a powdery fine concoction
  3. THIRD STEP : Beat both mixtures together on high speed until fluffy and smooth. Add vanilla and beat until combined. Refrigerate for about 1/2 hour (IF NEEDED), until it is of spreading consistency. (USE A STAND MIXER to incorporate the butter mix and custard mix—AND BEAT TO REMOVE ANY LUMPS- YOU CAN THIN A TINY BIT WITH MILK OR CREAM IF NEEDED BUT CUSTARD CAN BE VERY GLUEY. REMINDED ME OF MY FLOURAND WATER GLUE COOKIES I USED TO BAKE OUT IN THE SUN WHEN I WAS A KID–I ALSO TRIED TO MAKE MY DAD EAT THEM AFTER SPRINKLING WITH NESTLES QUICK POWDER ON THE TOP…be patient, it will all come together!)
  4. FOURTH STEP: WHEN READY TO FROST THE CAKES–IT IS EXTRA PRETTY TO USE A PASTRY BAG WITH A STAR TIP–BUT A KNIFE WILL DO IN A PINCH. 

4 thoughts on “the holy grail of butter cream frosting

  1. I remember that dinette cake! I’m going to do some dishes so I can make them for miss mae’s bday! I was heading to the hospital right about now exactly a year ago 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

