the left coast

I always knew that someday I would return to the west coast. Toronto winters were wearing me down. My little house in Leslieville sat on the corner of my street with 130-150 ft of sidewalk that had to be cleared all too regularly through the winter months. This Vancouver girl never quite adapted to the task…but I tried, oh I tried! I suppose hiring someone or moving to a condo may have sufficed but eventual escape was on my mind. I dreamed of all of my girls converging to closer geographical locations.

I took a hard look at the life I wanted going forward. I stumbled upon a quote that resonated with me by Doris Lessing…

“whatever you’re meant to do, do it now. The conditions are always impossible.”

It seemed to me that I had a daughter that desperately needed to fly on her own that had been living with me and another one in the west who could use some help. My middle kid is also in flux as her little family will be searching for a new job post-graduation.  I had also long dreamed of spending time in France with my sister…( more on that later)

I wanted to have a little place near Stanley Park that could be rented out if needed. Living in Manhattan for a year had taught me I could nest in a tiny space as long as I had a big park close by and the city at my doorstep.

On top of it all, I needed to figure out how to stretch the $$. I worked hard to find the “perfect for me” little apartment that will be undergoing a makeover, with a new kitchen and bathroom. I am now in the middle of an urban garden, just steps from the ocean and my favourite park in the world. Restaurants, shops and bike paths are at my doorstep.

I loved another quote I came across today….”There are three things we cry about in life, things that are lost, things that are found, and things that are magnificent.” Douglas Coupland
BRAINY QUOTES

So when I start to feel bummed out, like when I found all this amazing Christmas stuff on sale and there is NO MORE ROOM at my little INN–I remind myself there are still many good things to come. IMG_1720

 

 

Published by Terri James Harker

Terri James Harker lives in her hometown of Vancouver, Canada. Back to first person : I'm a Mom of 3 girls. Grandma of 2 girls and 4 boys. My background is in Sales& Marketing ...expert Account Management with 2 multinational publishers for 20 years. While other kids were learning to dance, swim, ski and play the violin, I was baking and sewing. For years I thought that I was TALENTLESS-- but I eventually realized I was one of the few people who actually used my skills ( dare I say talents?) Feeding the people I love and care about is a big part of what makes me happy. Creating beautiful ( unique?) things, even if held together by duct tape and safety pins makes me happy.

2 thoughts on “the left coast

  1. I’m enjoying every moment of your vicarious life in Vancouver. I really wish I was nearby you now!
    Linda

    Like

Leave a comment